Upcoming Events

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

"The Conservation of Dante's 1477 Divine Comedy" - Jeff Peachey, Independent Book Conservator

-

Location: 102 Hesburgh Library, Rare Books and Special Collections

One of the most important volumes of the Hesburgh Libraries’ renowned Zahm Dante collection, a 1477 edition of Dante’s Divine Comedy printed in Venice by Wendelin of Speyer, has recently undergone a major conservation treatment. This treatment uncovered evidence that the Inferno and Purgatory sections of the text may have circulated separately at one point. Considerations of 15th c. binding practices versus modern techniques will also be discussed, as well as the functional and aesthetic decisions for conservation rebinding.…

Read More

Monday, September 10, 2018

Re-reading Dante's Vita nova: Chapters 25-27, teleconference

-

Location: 339 O'Shaughnessy Hall

“Re-reading Dante’s Vita nova is a collaborative research project involving researchers from University College London, the University of Bristol, the University of Cambridge, the University of Leeds, the University of Notre Dame, the University of Oxford, the University of Reading, and the University of Warwick. 

Read More

Thursday, November 29, 2018

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Thursday, March 7, 2019

Friday, March 8, 2019

Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Thursday, October 24, 2019

Friday, October 25, 2019

Monday, May 11, 2020